Skip to content

A BRACE OF MAXIMA JOINTS

November 18, 2010

If you’ve read the ‘Your Viner’s’ page, you’ll know that I’m keen to get a directory of owner’s Viner’s, so that this blog becomes a great resource for people thinking of getting one of Pistoia’s finest.

So I’m dead chuffed that a couple of Viner owners have sent in photo’s of their pride and joy’s. Olivia Grace and Bryan Stanwick sent me some great shots of their Maxima’s, and Bryan has kindly written a little piece about the sublime qualities of the Maxima. What I find interesting is that they’ve both taken a shot of the signature joint of the Maxima – the extended top tube, that projects through the seat tube (see Olivia’s photo below). I don’t know what it’s called exactly, but it’s distinctive to this frame. My Maxima doesn’t have this feature. I don’t know why (might be to do with the frame angles etc on my frame) and to be honest I was a little disappointed when my frame first arrived. But now I quite like the fact that my Maxima might be the only one of it’s kind! And if anyone from Viner reads this – what is that joint feature called exactly?

Anyway – over to Bryan:

I love all the good work and spreading the word your doing, thought I send my bit in.

Maxima 60th Anniversary Edition
Campag Chorus  10sp
Seen here with Miche Supertype Wheels, every day wheels are Viner Caesar Evo or Fulcrum 3
Seat post Deda Super Zero
Deda Newton shallow Drop Bars
Deda Zero Stem
SMP Stratos Saddle — Best saddle in the world !

The first time I saw this bike was at the Viner factory and just to pick it up from the stand it was on you knew that it would perform perfectly,  and this was long before Marcel had done his test. I know it sounds strange but the minute you handle this bike you can feel the class, history and passion that goes into making a Viner, anyway that’s the falling in love bit.

Now to the riding, I had been riding a Colnago C50 which to me was the benchmark of bikes. The one I had was a proper made in Italy version and not one of your current far eastern models. After the visit to the Viner factory I went to a good friend of mine, Kevin Worster (Cycle Doctor now living in France) to be measured up for my new frame. Kevin used to be a Viner dealer based in Canary Wharf London and after the measurements had been done the order was placed with the factory. The due date arrived and taking the new frame out of its box was like Christmas day, within a few hours the new bike was assembled and ready to go, unfortunately this was a Friday night and too late to do anything so like a small child I sat most of the night looking at my new toy knowing I would have to wait until tomorrow to use it.

Saturday morning arrived it was bright and clear a perfect day to go out and try my new bike. I went for a two-hour ride and was constantly saying to myself where did that come from, because the feeling of the bike was unbelievable, so much so that when I returned home I had to go back out on the Colnago just to see if I was imagining the difference. After about half an hour I returned home and took the Maxima out again, at this point the Colnago was stripped of its benchmark and resigned to the ‘just like every other bike’ section.

The new Maxima just felt so solid and secure on the road, nothing wasted in your pedal stroke, everything just moved you forward. I couldn’t wait to take it out on some real roads in the Alps, and when I got there the descending was magic, it felt like the bike was on rails, just point and go, climbing was easier too as all your power goes through the wheel and not wasted bending the frame.

And just when you think it can’t get any better I get introduced to Giuseppe Giannecchini from www.velosolutions.eu bike fitter extraordinaire. Giuseppe is an Italian-based bio mechanic working with top pros and top amateur riders. A bike fitting session with him is worth every penny, he spends time in setting up your new position on your bike getting the balance of your body weight between the wheels and your seat position and hand position just so.
Anyway I could go on for hours, so to sum up the Viner Maxima is a fantastic bike. But having said all this I saw the new Viner Titan Karbon at Euro Bike this year. I don’t need one but I really I want one!

Bryan’s 60th Anniversary Maxima

Olivia’s 2009 Maxima

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Olivia Grace permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:14 am

    The Italians at the Viner factory refer to it as ‘the knob’ – I was offered it as an option on the bike and felt it was so unusual that I had to have it. Epic (where I got mine) referred to it as the ‘top tube extension’ which is probably a better term!

  2. November 18, 2010 12:19 pm

    Mmmm I was never offered ‘the knob’! As you say, it is unusual and has become the Maxima signature. Even the new generation RS has a variant of ‘the knob’.

    Real shame Epic aren’t a Viner dealer anymore.

  3. November 19, 2010 8:32 am

    Had an email from Tim W who say’s:

    In answer to your question about the extended top tube on the Maxima on your blog, when I asked at the Cycle show about it, they were thinking of dropping it as it was a design for the 60th anniversary edition (maybe why yours is missing) but everyone liked it as it made the Maxima more distinctive so they decided to keep it on future models. Don’t know if it’s true or not.

  4. John Vincent permalink
    January 28, 2011 6:52 am

    The extension of the top tube on the Maxima is called a “turbo plate”. The frame can be built without it.
    When I first saw it in 2007 I thought it was a little “agricultural”. On making enquiry it was explained to me (by the Italian finger method) that an ‘X’ junction is stronger than a ‘T’ junction.
    If you look carefully at this area you will note that on the Maxima the lugs are approximately 35mm in diameter. The turbo plate increases the junction by approximately 20mm where the seatstays join the seat tube/top tube.
    On the Maxima the narrow seatstay tubes reduce to a larger single tube just above the rear brake fixing point.
    On the Maxima RS the seatstays remain as two narrow tubes right up to the turbo plate resulting in the junction increasing by approximately a further 10mm.

Leave a Reply

