Skip to content

BITTEN BY THE VINER BUG

April 20, 2012

I’ll be the first to admit I didn’t expect to get so passionate about Viner, but once you’ve ridden one you understand. Steven Gordon-Head understands as well. A newcomer to cycling after many years rock climbing and skiing, within a month Steven had bought two Viners. His aluminium Icarus was his first ‘proper’ road bike, and was purchased from Pure Motion, just around the corner from him.

“By the start of August I made the decision to buy a road bike and on the short list was a Pinarello FP2, Bianchi C2C, Willier and a Cube or wishful something from PMC. I explained what I had looked at and how much I wanted to spend, Brad explained that for the cost of the Pini, which was in a sale, he could do the Icarus built to my size and requests…. I said that whatever I wanted Campag on the bike, not Shimano or USA stuff. I was amazed to find that I could have an Italian dream machine in my budget, so at the age of 57 I bought my first “serious” road bike.”

Steven didn’t waste time updating his Icarus. “My current spec is now Icarus 55 frame with carbon fork, Miche 50/34, 172 alloy crank, Miche brakes, Veloce 10 speed, Deda RHM 2 bar with Quattro 2 110 stem. Look Keo classic pedals, Miche Connect wheels with 23mm Scwalbe Ultremo ZX tyres, Jag red cables, Sella SL saddle with Deda magic stick seat post. The bright red bar tape is Fizik and the number of comments I get on that alone is amazing.”

After a few rides of his Icarus, Steven’s Viner bug bit hard. A few weeks later he was the owner of a 2010 ex-stock carbon Magnifica. Although this new bike had a similar build and look to the Icarus, the ride was very different.

“By comparison to my Icarus the Magnifica feels like a whippet, put the power down and it goes, is much more comfortable riding over the road. Cornering is much more positive, like thinking I want to go there and lean and its round. My first ride was a solo 40 miles and it felt like I popped round the corner. Interestingly I have noticed that my average speed has risen by over two miles per hour and it is much easier to hold high speed now. Looking forward to riding it in my next event.
I think that is enough bikes for now, especially as my 2 daughters are miffed that my bikes cost more than their two cars!”
One Comment leave one →
  1. Steven Gordon-Head permalink
    May 2, 2012 7:34 pm

    Hi, Great to see the article, my Magnifica has been upgraded again with Pure Motion Cycles help! It now rides on Zipp 404 clinchers. I was sceptical about running carbon wheels and wondering if it was going to be a good idea to spend that amount of money on something which may provide an improvement in ones mind only. I ended up buying Zipps as they were on offer. I was hoping to stay with an Italian brand but the rims I had in mind were just too expensive and tubular only.
    I can say after todays first ride is, what a difference…..money well spent, my face had a big grin when I finally got home. Will have to do one of my regular circuits and look at the figures on my GARMIN in a very broad sense to see if there is evidence of my feelings being real.
    There should be some piccies of the bike and its new wheels on PMC website in the near future.

    All the best
    Steven
    Ps already working on my next upgrade purchase ideas!!! (carbon handle bars seem a likely one)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

